On the water…again

I had been looking for it for weeks and finally It showed up! A favorable weather window, quite short but so enjoyable which made it possible to go back to sea and navigate on board the Solarboat Icade. The main reason for this navigation was to validate the latest modifications made on the prototype and make sure solar panels were working properly. What a pleasure to be rewarded for our efforts! The sun was missing, but despite this, the 4 Torqeedo batteries (fully charged the day before) did a great job and I enjoyed myself beyond imagination. The following pictures provide evidence.

I reached a peak velocity of 8 knots but that was just out of curiosity, and to ensure the Solarboat Icade was responding as expected. I was far from the 12 knots registered on my GPS when kiting solo across the Pacific Ocean, but nevertheless, that was fun. Considering the energy used at such a speed, I’ll certainly be moving at a more moderate pace across the Northwest Passage.

Back at the shipyard this week as there is still room for improvement on the prototype, the insulation of the connections between solar panels and batteries, for example. It is time to think of all the little details that will make my life easier when in the Arctic. Problems and issues may be unavoidable but anticipating them,  may help identify and solve them as they emerge.

Remember, slow and steady wins the race.  This is one of the keys of an extreme journey. In my case, there is no use starting fast and running wild if some thick ice is still around. But no need either on waiting for the ideal weather windows as it never happens. It is a matter of balance, of compromise.

Meanwhile, here’s a footage of that day

‘,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Quelques ronds dans l’eau

Je l’attendais depuis des semaines !  Elle s’est enfin présentée ! Une jolie fenêtre météo, aussi brève que savoureuse m’a récemment permis de retrouver l’eau salée  et de naviguer à  bord du Solarboat Icade. Quelques ronds dans l’eau pour valider les dernières modifications réalisées et vérifier le bon fonctionnement des panneaux solaires. Un réel plaisir ! Le soleil manquait à l’appel, mais malgré cela, les 4 batteries Torqeedo (chargées avant la mise à l’eau) ont largement tenu le coup et je me suis amusée au-délà de ce qu’on peut imaginer, photos à l’appui !

Une petite pointe de vitesse à 8 noeuds histoire de voir comment réagissait le bateau doté de ses nouveaux équipements ! J’étais loin des 12 noeuds enregistrés sur mon GPS lors de ma traversée du Pacifique en kite, mais c’était bien sympa quand même ! Cela dit, vu l’énergie consommée cette allure, il est fort probable que ma vitesse moyenne en Arctique soit beaucoup plus raisonnable.

Retour au chantier cette semaine pour apporter encore quelques améliorations au prototype, comme renforcer l’isolation des liaisons entre les panneaux solaires et les batteries par exemple, et d’autres petits détails méritant toute notre attention. Impossible d’éviter les problèmes mais en les anticipant, nous nous donnons une chance supplémentaire de pouvoir les déjouer.

« Rien ne sert de courir, il faut partir à point!  » C’est là l’une des clefs des voyages de l’extrême. Dans mon cas, inutile de partir ventre à  terre, alors que la glace est encore trop présente le long du parcours, mais pas question non plus d’attendre une configuration idéale qui, de toute façon, n’rrivera jamais. Tout est une question de compromis, et Dieu sait sait qu’il va en falloir dans le Passage du Nord-Ouest.

En attendant le prochain épisode, redécouvrez cette sortie en vidéo

‘,

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *